Yummy in my Tummy


As my adorable nephew always says as he enjoys a treat to his liking; “Yummy in my tummy,” with his cute little voice that’s like music to my ears. Well, I found myself saying the same thing as I delighted in making a few healthy meals for myself this past week. Earlier in the week I had a wonderful idea to make an antipasto pasta salad. It was my first attempt in making one, but I figured it couldn’t be too difficult. The major challenge for me would be to acquire the taste that I desired. Luckily my recipe turned out well, and my salad was very enjoyable. So, I decided to add a few more items to my next try at it. This time, since I love olives; I added some manzanilla olives to the mix. In addition to that, I added slices of pepperoni and substituted the Zesty Italian dressing for a Greek Vinaigrette. This salad was equally as tasty, and I can now say that I have two salad recipes to add to my repertoire. 🙂

image

My Pasta and Spinach Delight with Pepperoni:
1 1/2 to 2 cups of Garden Rotini Pasta
1/2 cup of whole black olives
1/2 cup manzanilla olives
2 cups of spinach leaves
1 tomato
10 slices of pepperoni
1/2 cup of Greek Vinaigrette dressing
1 tsp. parmesan cheese

Directions:
Boil pasta until tender.
Drain pasta before chilling it with cold water for 30 seconds.
Place pasta in a bowl and add olives, spinach, tomatoes, and pepperoni.
Add Greek Vinaigrette dressing and then toss.
Finally, sprinkle with parmesan cheese.

On a natural high from making two very successful salads, I decided to make my own version of the oatmeal that is served by McDonald’s. It turned out really well and was quite enjoyable. It wasn’t as sweet as the one from McDonald’s, but I’m cutting back on my sugar intake anyway. It was sweet enough.

image

My Raisin, Apple, and Honey Oatmeal:
2 1/2 cups of water
1 cup old fashioned oatmeal
1/2 tsp. cinnamon
1 tsp. pure vanilla extract
1 1/2 tbsp. honey
1/2 cup raisins
1/2 cup chopped golden delicious apple
A dash of salt

Directions:
Add a dash of salt to boiling water. Then add oatmeal and stir continuously over a medium flame. Next add vanilla extract, cinnamon, and some raisins to oatmeal. When oatmeal has reached your desired consistency, remove from heat. Afterward add honey to sweeten before topping oatmeal with remaining raisins and chopped apples. And there you have, your very own raisin and apple, honey oatmeal.

Note: I added a sprinkle of milled Flaxseed to my oatmeal. If you are going to add Flaxseed to any of your meals, be sure to drink a lot of water to avoid uncomfortable digestive irregularities.

Outre Bride

Quirky Elegance

Cocoa Flower Style

Fashion, Fitness, and Feeling Good

FWST

Celebrate you , Celebrate STYLE

The Style Voyager

Hong Kong Fashion and Lifestyle Blog.

Keira Lennox

real-life beauty & style.

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

ExploreDreamDiscover Talks

Travel, culture, food, and perception

Create... Whole... Health....

Finding Balance & Beauty in Life

MISSMANGUE coaching empoderando a la mujer

Porque tu eres tu mejor inversión

Penelope's Musings

The Universe is Made of Stories, not Atoms

