Salad, Salad and Away…


image

I’ve been feeling like Supergirl lately after all the salad that I’ve been eating. After just two weeks of substituting either my lunch or dinner for a salad, away goes the pounds. I’ve managed to drop 4.8 lbs to be exact. It was so exhilarating to see my waistline shrink a bit and to feel the extra room in my clothing. So now I’m enthusiastic about finding more salad ideas to incorporate into my diet. I don’t want to get bored with the ones that I’m making now. In addition to eating salads daily, I am also cooking more often, rather than relying on various fast food restaurants to get my fill. I try to make myself a dinner every night, however, the nights when I don’t feel up to dealing with combining ingredients and slaving over a hot stove, I opt for the easy way out which translates to salad. Thus, the need for more salad ideas. Tonight though, I decided to make a recipe that I found online on another blog that is quickly becoming a favorite of mine. I found a tuna patty recipe that seemed a bit odd to me (because I’ve never heard of a tuna patty before now), but I thought I would try it anyway. Afterall, I thought, if they’re anything like salmon patties, then I’d be in for a treat (I love salmon). But, due to my lack of ingredients that were listed on the site, I had to substitute some items with those that I had readily available. My patties turned out pretty well. I also added a cucumber and tomato salad to my meal to get my full servings of vegetables for the day. All in all, it turned out to be quite tasty. I can easily see myself making this for a meal again. My variation of the tuna patty recipe is below. To get the original recipe that served as tonight’s inspiration, go to simplyrecipes.com.

Zesty Tuna Patties

Ingredients
1 6-ounce cans tuna
1 Tsp Dijon mustard
1 cup whole grain bread torn into small pieces
1/2 Tsp lemon zest
1/2 Tbsp lemon juice
1 Tbsp liquid from the can of tuna
1 Tbsp cilantro
1 Tbsp green pepper
1 Tbsp chopped jalapeno
Salt and ground black pepper
A couple squirts of tabasco
1 raw egg
1 Tbsp olive oil
1/2 teaspoon butter

Method
1. Drain the liquid from the tuna can. Reserve a tablespoon of the tuna water

2. In a medium bowl, mix together the tuna, mustard, bread, lemon zest, lime juice, tuna juice, cilantro, green peppers, and tabasco sauce. Sprinkle on salt and patties.

3. Place onto a wax paper lined tray and chill for an hour.

4. Heat the butter (for taste) in a cast iron or stick-free skillet on medium high. Place the patties in the pan, and cook until browned. Toast lightly buttered buns until golden brown. Place patty on bun. Adorn patty with a few spinach leaves and slices of tomato (Add tartar sauce if needed).

Yield: Makes 3 patties.

Cucumber and Tomato Salad

Ingredients
1 medium cucumber diced
1 medium tomato diced
1/3 cup of Greek vinaigrette dressing
1 Tbsp chopped Basil leaves
2 Tbsp Tomato and Basil Feta cheese ( I found it at Publix)

Method
Combine the chopped cucumbers and tomatoes together in a bowl. Add the chopped basil and Greek vinaigrette. Toss all the ingredients. Then sprinkle Feta on top of salad.

Yield: 2 servings

Outre Bride

Quirky Elegance

Cocoa Flower Style

Fashion, Fitness, and Feeling Good

FWST

Celebrate you , Celebrate STYLE

The Style Voyager

Hong Kong Fashion and Lifestyle Blog.

Keira Lennox

real-life beauty & style.

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

ExploreDreamDiscover Talks

Travel, culture, food, and perception

Create... Whole... Health....

Finding Balance & Beauty in Life

MISSMANGUE coaching empoderando a la mujer

Porque tu eres tu mejor inversión

Penelope's Musings

The Universe is Made of Stories, not Atoms

